EXCUBATION

FROM THE IDEA to

MARKET LAUNCH



We accompany our customers from the first ideas to market launch of products and services. From the beginning of our idea journey we ensure that there are processes and actions in order to guarantee the execution and market launch. Our Incubation-Excubation Process with the phases

THINK – DO – PITCH – MAKE – LAUNCH – OPERATE

ensure a transparent and integrated proceess from the idea to market launch. “Incubation with Excubation in Mind”.


It is hard for established Companies to develop radical or disruptive ideas and business models in their existing business structures. Therefore they found own start-ups, incubators or accelerators. These units operates self-sufficiently and pending the development of disruptive ideas in start-up clusters like Berlin, London, Tel Aviv or Silicon Valley. Surprisingly there are just a few success stories of self-sufficiently Labs which had a sustainable impact on the core business of the parent company or developed real disruptiv innovations.

In a rare nombers of cases there is a structured and constant exchange between the parent company and the start-up so that new insights and ideas find their way in order to influence the core business positivly and maket it sustainable. On the other hand there are Corporate or Future Labs inside a group without enough ressources, responsibility and support by the top management. In this constellation it is possible to give the new way of working and methods a try but a sustainable or disruptive success is improbable.

The biggest challenge for innovation management is to run an existing business model and to try new business models at the same time and probably cannibalize the existing one. The “ambidextrous organization” is an academic ideal but shows just a few real success cases.

To remain fit for future it is not enough to copy some actions and to expect the same results like innovative companies. It is necessarily to check the sustainability of the whole organization and strategy to handle disruptiv trends and socioeconomic development. The upcoming change has to be done by all divisions – it requires an “upgrade from organization 1.0 to organization 2.0”, from highly resource-intensive companies and products to highly knowledge-intensive ones. This paradigm shift also needs a new thinking of traditional business functions in the New Economy reality like the practice in technology companies and start-ups.

Such an upgrade is necessary for the core business of product development which is often a process inside research and development division. This process creates way to slowly and too far away from customers needs and desires products. In the last years a few succesful methods from start-ups becomes more relevant. For example: Lean Start-up methodic. It develops customer centered new business models, tests them quickly and relevantly for customers, improves and becomes scaled in case of success.

Transformationsprozess

It would be better to have an ecosystem approach point of view on Innovations by weaving internal, own external and foreign units into one working ecosystem. That should allow the exchange of ideas, informations, ressources and humans. The innovation manager is also an ecosystem manager and coach who constantly balaces internal and external expectations and changes in order to connect agile idea creation of an external eco system with the conversion capability and scalability of a group.

EXCUBATION BLOCKS


In & Excubation


No matter if it is internal or external Incubation – the most important point is to give the teams the liberty and support they need to build a scalable product and business model from validated ideas. Therefore it is important to being able to think in a role of “„serial entrepreneurs“ or „company builder“.

Garagen & Maker`s Lab

In an agile environment you need fast Prototype Preperation to decide quickly and to validate them with customers. Wir build and run your Maker’s Lab so that you can validate your assumptions and reflect the market assessment by the Lean Start-Up Approach.

Training Courses


In certain Training Courses we teach a combination of methods, action learning, thinking interdisciplinary, acting customer centered, creating unthought ideas, develop business models and launch new products agilely to market.


New-Product Excubation

Successful market launch of new products like the

crowdfunding platform of BAWAG/PSK


start up as own company

Successful start up as own company creating innovative services e.g. trend and creative agency

Digital Transformation

Innovation Culture

Customer Centricity

Open Spaces

New Work & Leadershop

Excubation

EXCUBATION

VON IDEEN ZUM MARKTEINTRITT



Wir begleiten unsere Kunden von ersten Ideen hin zum Markteintritt neuer Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Wir sorgen schon zu Beginn der Ideenreise für klare Prozesse und Aktionen, um die spätere Umsetzung und Markteinführung von Ideen sicherzustellen – Unser Incubation-Excubation Prozess mit den Phasen:

THINK – DO – PITCH – MAKE – LAUNCH – OPERATE

sorgt hierbei für einen transparenten und integrierten Prozess von Ideen bis zum Markteintritt. „Incubation with Excubation in Mind“.


Etablierte Unternehmen tun sich schwer in Ihrer bestehenden Unternehmensstruktur radikale oder disruptive Ideen und Geschäftsmodelle zu entwickeln und gründen selbst eigene Startups, Incubatoren oder Acceleratoren. Diese Einheiten operieren oft autark in Erwartung neuer disruptiver Ideen in Startup Clustern wie Berlin, London, Tel Aviv oder Silicon Valley. Interessanterweise gibt es aber wenige, echte Erfolgsstories, wo solche autark operierenden Labs nachhaltige Wirkung auf das Kerngeschäft des Mutterkonzerns gehabt oder wirklich disruptive Innovationen hervorgebracht hätten.

Nur in seltenen Fällen wird der Austausch zwischen Einheiten des Mutterkonzerns und dem Start-up strukturiert und kontinuierlich durchgeführt, so daß neue Erkenntnisse und Ideen, die durch das Eintauchen des Startups in ein innovatives Ökosystems möglich geworden sind, auch wirklich das Kerngeschäft positiv beeinflussen und auch zukunftsfähiger machen. Am anderen Ende der Skala befinden sich Firmenlabs oder Zukunftswerkstätten in denen innerhalb des Konzernes neue Ideen entwickelt werden, die aber oft nicht mit entsprechenden Ressourcen, Verantwortung und Top Management Unterstützung ausgestattet sind. Hier kann ein Vorsichtiges Herantasten an neue Arbeitsweisen und Methoden ermöglicht werden, ein nachhaltiger oder gar disruptiver Unternehmenserfolg ist aber in dieser Konstellation eher unwahrscheinlich.

Diese Herausforderung, ein bestehendes Geschäftsmodell weiterzuführen und gleichzeitig neue Geschäftmodelle auszuprobieren und das etablierte unter Umständen auch zu kanibalisieren, ist eine der größten Herausforderungen an das Innovationsmanagement. Die ideale, sogenannte beidhändige Organisation (ambidextrous organisation), ist ein akademische Idealbild, das nur wenige reale Erfolgsfälle vorweisen kann.

Um Zukunftsfähigkeit der Organisation sicherzustellen, reicht es aber nicht einzelne Maßnahmen zu kopieren und dann auf ähnlichen Erfolg, wie innovative Unternehmen zu erwarten. Die notwendige Reaktion auf disruptive Trends und sozioökonomische Entwicklungen ist es die Gesamte Organisation und Unternehmensstrategie auf Zukunftsfähigkeit zu überprüfen. Die erforderliche Veränderung muß sich durch alle Unternehmensbereiche ziehen, sie erfordert quasi ein „Upgrade von Organisation 1.0 auf Organisation 2.0“, von ressourcenintensiven Unternehmungen und Produkten hin zu zu wissensintensiven Unternehmungen und Produkten. Dieser Paradigmenwechsel erfordert auch ein Neudenken klassischer betriebswirtschaftlicher Funktionen in der Neuen Ökonomischen Realität anhand der Praxis in Technologiefirmen und Start-ups.

Ein solches „Upgrade“ ist vor allem für den Kernprozess der Neuproduktentwicklung von Nöten, der als klassischer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprozess viel zu oft zu langsam und zu sehr an Kundenbedürfnissen und Sehnsüchten vorbei Produkte entwickelt hat. Hier haben in den letzten Jahren Methoden, die der Arbeitsweise erfolgreicher Start-Up Firmen entlehnt sind an Bedeutung gewonnen. Die Lean Start-Up Methodik zum Beispiel, die kundenfokussiert und -integriert neue Geschäftsmodelle sucht, diese schnell und kundenrelevant ausprobiert, verbessert und bei Erfolg skaliert.

Transformationsprozess

Besser ist es Innovation unter dem Ökosystemansatz zu sehen und interne, eigene externe und fremde externe Einheiten zu einem funktionierenden Ökosystem zu verweben, in dem ein Austausch von Ideen, Informationen, Ressourcen und Menschen möglich ist. Der Innovationsmanager ist hier Ökosystemmanager und Coach der ständig interne und externe Erwartungen und Veränderungen ausbalanciert, um die agile Ideengenerierung eines externen Ökosysstems mit der Umsetzungsfähigkeit und Skalierbarkeit eines Großkonzern zu verbinden.

EXCUBATION BAUSTEINE


In & Excubation


Ob interne oder externe Inkubation. Entscheidend ist, dass Sie Ihren Ideen-Teams den Freiraum und die Unterstützung geben aus der validierten Idee ein volumentaugliches Produkt und Geschäftsmodells zu bauen. Dabei ist es wichtig sich kulturell in die Rolle eines „serial entrepreneurs“ bzw. „company builder“ denken zu können.

Garagen & Maker`s Lab

Schnelle Prototyperstellung für Kundenvalidierung und Entscheidungsfindung sind in einem agilen Umfeld unverzichtbar. Wir bauen und betreiben Ihr Maker`s Lab, damit Sie Annahmen schnell zu verifizieren und mittels Lean Start-Up schnelle und valide Markteinschätzungen treffen zu können.

Lehrgänge


In diversen Lehrgängen vermitteln wir mit einer Kombination aus Methodenvermittlung, Action Learning und Kompetenztraining interdisziplinär zu denken, kundenzentriert zu handeln, ungedachte Ideen zu erarbeiten, Geschäftsmodelle zu entwickeln und neue Produkte agil Richtung Markt zu bringen.


Neu-Produkt Excubation

Erfolgreicher Marktlaunch neuer Produkte wie z.B. der erfolgreichen Crowdfunding Plattform der BAWAG/PSK


Unternehmensausgründung

Erfolgreiche Ausgründung von innovativen Dienstleistungen u.a. einer Trend- und Kreativagentur

Digitale Transformation

Innovationskultur

Kundenzentrierung

Neue Arbeit & Führung